New City Church is led by a Council of Elders.  The Elders are men who meet the qualifications of 1 Timothy 3:1-7  and Titus 1:5-9.  These men have made public vows of faithfulness to the Lord and to his church and have been affirmed by the people of New City Church as Elders.

In the New Testament the words for Elder, Pastor, and Overseer are used interchangeably, indicating no real distinction between the titles. For example, in Acts 20 Paul called the elders (presbyters) to him (20:17).  God made them overseers (bishops) and placed them in a position to care for (or to shepherd, ie, to pastor) the flock (20:28). At New City, therefore, the Council of Elders are the pastors of the church and are responsible for the spiritual care and leadership of the church. These men work alongside the church to accomplish its mission of making disciples.

Though Scripture uses these terms interchangeable, yet the apostle Paul recognizes differences among the Elders. In his first letter to Timothy Paul wrote, “Let the elders who rule well be considered worthy of double honor, especially those who labor in preaching and teaching” (1 Timothy 5:17, ESV). While the entire Council of Elders share the pastoral responsibilities, some are set apart for specific purposes.

The Council of Elders is currently comprised of five men: J-T Richards, Dan Lane, Joel Shaffer, Dave Vermilye and Jim Wynalda.


In support of the Council of Elders and the church, New City Church is served by various deacons. The deacons are men or women who meet the qualifications of 1 Timothy 3:8-13.  The deacons assist the Council of Elders and the church by implementing the various ministries of the church. They work and function under the authority of the Council of Elders.

The Deacons serving New City Church are Sherilyn Shaffer, Beth Vermilye, Rachael Passarelli, Ryan Misenhimer, Diana Tant-Barstow, & Dawnae Richards.